Tags

, , ,

Recently, I am so into a song by Colbie Caillat. To be honest, the first time I heard the song, I was crying. Not one where I would cry uncontrolled, but one where tears just flow down without me realizing it. The title of the song is “Try” and the punch line of the lyric is “do you like you?”. Wow, I feel like someone just ask me a a very troublesome question.

You must all know that I really like a quote by Fritz Perls that’s also known as the Gestalt Prayer right? The main reason why I like those wise words are because of the way they never force other to be as what they want other to be. It says that we have our own life and no one have the right to force any of us to lead a certain type of idea. Isn’t that amazing? That is why, when I heard the line: You don’t have to try so hard, you don’t have to bend until you break, I can’t help but cry out of relief.

I am a low tension person, I do not pay attention about what’s happening around me. Given my personality and how strong my belief on gestalt prayer, I generally have no problem about people expecting things from me. It’s not that I do not care about they expectation, nor that I find their expectation are way to easy to achieve. It just their reaction, whether it’s a bad one or a good one, didn’t affect me much. Unfortunately, there exist list of person whom I can’t act that way regardless how unimaginable their request or how painful their behavior toward me. I try so hard to give it all away just for that person’s sake of happiness, but do they like me? No, they don’t.

How perfect a life could be, if those who have the power to hurt us would say these word to us, one about not trying so hard and disregarding our own needs. If only they are kind enough to say, you don’t have to try so hard, there would be less people who have to suffer because of others expectation. I mean we can’t always escape from those expectation. There will be a time when we have to face it whether we like it or not. The outcome? We will lose another fragment of happiness that may never come to our lives anymore. So how great our life could be, if we could just ignore those painful expectation and start to just love our own selves, right? This is the song Try by Colbie Caillat on youtube:

..and the lyric:

Oooh
Oooh

Put your make up on
Get your nails done
Curl your hair
Run the extra mile
Keep it slim so they like you, do they like you?

Get your sexy on
Don’t be shy, girl
Take it off
This is what you want, to belong, so they like you
Do you like you?

You don’t have to try so hard
You don’t have to give it all away
You just have to get up, get up, get up, get up
You don’t have to change a single thing

You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try
Yooou don’t have to try

Oooh
Oooh

Get your shopping on, at the mall, max your credit cards
You don’t have to choose, buy it all, so they like you
Do they like you?

Wait a second,
Why should you care, what they think of you
When you’re all alone, by yourself, do you like you?
Do you like you?

You don’t have to try so hard
You don’t have to give it all away
You just have to get up, get up, get up, get up
You don’t have to change a single thing

You don’t have to try so hard
You don’t have to bend until you break
You just have to get up, get up, get up, get up
You don’t have to change a single thing

You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try

You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try
Yooou don’t have to try

Noooo
Oooh

You don’t have to try so hard
You don’t have to give it all away
You just have to get up, get up, get up, get up
You don’t have to change a single thing

You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try, try, try, try
You don’t have to try
You don’t have to try

Take your make up off
Let your hair down
Take a breath
Look into the mirror, at yourself
Don’t you like you?
Cause I like you

DO YOU LIKE YOU?

Love,

Fitri

